de / en
mood-video

Background

In 1991 I (architect) founded ag4 in Cologne with Harald Singer (stage director) and Reinhard Lepel (architect): Consortium for 4-Dimensional Building. ag4 quickly turned into a group with a multi-faceted interdisciplinarity. These were exciting times, but not always crowned with economic success. In 1997, business economist Ralf Müller joined us and together we developed ag4 mediatecture company that quickly turned into a general contractor for mediatectonic projects. From 2003, Ralf Müller and I alone managed ag4 company. In 2005 we also founded the ag4 media façade GmbH, a limited liability company.

Reorientation from 2009

The overall challenge for a mediatect lies in placing our complex daily world into given living spaces. ag4 has always accepted this challenge, but additionally entrepreneurial structures became necessary in order to realize the projects in our overall responsibility. The successful and worldwide establishment of the media façade products was a good moment for Ralf Müller and me to congratulate ourselves on what we had achieved and to pursue our own business-paths. Therefore I am in a process of reorientation after 18 years with ag4, positioning myself with a typical paradox of our time: working in a niche, but being a generalist at the same time – and looking for new creative challenges and cooperations.

Working method

Mediatectonic projects do not allow for a separation of spatial construction and medial content. I develop concepts that include both aspects from the beginning. The marked interdisciplinary orientation of ag4 has provided me with the professional and technical know-how that go far beyond the job that I once learned. Consequently, the boundaries between design, technological development, conceptual work and systemic consulting dissolve.

de / en
stimmungsvideo

Vorgeschichte

1991 gründetete ich (Architekt) mit Harald Singer (Regisseur) und Reinhard Lepel (Architekt) in Köln die ag4: Arbeitsgemeinschaft für 4-dimensionales Bauen. ag4 entwickelte sich rasch zur einer Gruppe mit einer vielschichtigen Interdisziplinarität. Eine spannende Zeit, aber nicht immer mit wirtschaftlichem Erfolg gekrönt. 1997 kam der Betriebswirt Ralf Müller dazu und gemeinsam wurde ag4 mediatecture company aufgebaut, die sich zu einem Generalunternehmen für mediatektonische Projekte entwickelte. Ab 2003 führten Ralf Müller und ich allein die ag4 mediatecture company. 2005 gründeten wir zusätzlich die ag4 media facade GmbH.

Neuorientierung ab 2009

Die herausragende Aufgabe für einen Mediatekten liegt in der Vermittlung unserer komplexen Lebenswelt in konkrete Lebensräume. ag4 hat sich dieser Herausforderung immer gestellt, parallel wurden aber unternehmerische Strukturen zur Umsetzung der Projekte in der Gesamtverantwortung notwendig. Die erfolgreiche und weltweite Etablierung der Produkte für Medienfassaden war ein guter Zeitpunkt für Ralf Müller und mich, uns für das Erreichte zu beglückwünschen und uns aufzuteilen. Deswegen orientiere ich mich nach 18 Jahren ag4 neu und stelle mich mit einem typischen Paradoxon unserer Zeit auf: Arbeiten in einer Nische, dies aber als Generalist - und wieder offen für kreative Abenteuer und Kooperationen.

Arbeitsweise

Bei mediatektonischen Projekten kann die räumliche Konstruktion nicht von den medialen Inhalten getrennt werden. Ich erarbeite Konzepte, die von Anfang an beide Bereiche einbeziehen. Die stark interdisziplinäre Ausrichtung von ag4 hat mich mit einem fachlichen und handwerklichen Rüstzeug versehen, die weit über meinen erlernten Beruf geht. So lösen sich für mich die Grenzen zwischen Gestaltung, Technologieentwicklung, Konzeptarbeit und systemischer Beratung auf.